Executive #

The Executive is a seven-person team that performs the day-to-day functions of the Adelaide Medical Students’ Society and carries out the directions of the Committee.

In practice the Executive has a multifaceted role including performing technical background work, co-ordinating the efforts of the Committee, and acting as the public face of the AMSS. Each medical student on the Executive is elected by the members of the Society at the Annual General Meeting and serves a twelve-month term.

It is important to note that the Executive does most of its work very much as a team, and so the delineation of specific duties above is somewhat misleading. As a strong team the Executive is responsible for carrying out a significant amount of technical background work required to enable members of the Committee to function effectively. In this sense the Executive can be seen as the ‘engine room’ as it works away at behind-the-scenes tasks like preparing minutes, signing-up members, running accounts, ensuring adherence to legislation, organising meetings and arranging sponsor partnerships. The Treasurer, Sponsorship Officer, Membership Officer and Secretary are particularly important for this kind of work.

The AMSS is a large student organisation which runs over sixty separate events each year, with some of them attracting over five hundred students and carrying budgets into the tens-of-thousands of dollars. It has a Committee of approximately seventy different Officers and is active in many spheres including education, representation, health and wellbeing, recreation and philanthropy. It is therefore unsurprising that a large volume of the work of the Executive is ensuring all the different components of the Society work seamlessly together. The President, Vice President (Communication) and Vice President (Education) focus on this role.

Finally the Executive acts as the public face of the AMSS. The entire Executive greets First Years upon their entry to medical school. When an issue arises within the Medical Program that negatively affects students, it is the President and the Vice President (Education) that meet with the Faculty and represent student opinion. The President and Vice President (Communication) focus on being an open and approachable face for the AMSS to all of its members. The Executive is an exciting group to contribute to! Please get in touch with any current Office-bearers if you want to find out more about their roles.


President
Monica Chen
president@amss.org.au

Vice President (Education)
Malcolm Borg
vpe@amss.org.au

Vice President (Communications)
Toby Zerner
vpc@amss.org.au

Treasurer
Huy Pham
treasurer@amss.org.au

Sponsorship Officer
Hamish Phillips
sponsorship@amss.org.au

Membership Officer
Abby Moore
membership@amss.org.au

Secretary
Jade Pisaniello
secretary@amss.org.au

Committee #

The Committee forms the most important body within the Adelaide Medical Students’ Society. It is a diverse group comprising approximately seventy Officers from all six year levels of the undergraduate Medical Program at the University of Adelaide. The general role of the Committee is to represent the voice of the wider membership of the Society. The Committee meets on an (almost) fortnightly basis during the Academic Year to decide upon important directives regarding all aspects of the function of the AMSS, from things like the location of MedBall right through to our official standpoint on a specific educational matter. Decisions made at Committee meetings are then acted upon by the Executive and other Committee members in the time between meetings.


Junior Education Officer
Patrick Kennewell
juniored@amss.org.au

Senior AMSA Representative
James Kimber
amsa@amss.org.au

Gender Officers
Chloe Borgas & Fergus Lynch
gender@amss.org.au

LGBTQI+ Officer
Ricky Stocker-Johns
lgbqti@amss.org.au

Pre-Clinical Coordinator
Sachini Perera
preclin@amss.org.au

Clinical Coordinator
Evan Garrett
clinical@amss.org.au

AMA(SA) Representative
Simon Cousins
ama@amss.org.au

Rural Representative
Tom Gransbury
rural@amss.org.au

Junior AMSA Representative
Florencia Moraga
amsajunior@amss.org.au

Sports Officers
Kavindra Abeyratne & Henry Shaw
sports@amss.org.au

Research Officer
Sebastian Rositano
research@amss.org.au

Philanthropy Officer
Bianca Kennedy
philanthropy@amss.org.au

EdPrograms Coordinators
Catalina Moraga, Georgia Smithson-Tomas & Riley Ovan
edprograms@amss.org.au

EdForum Convenor
Ayra Perakath
edforums@amss.org.au

Health & Wellbeing Officers
Mithma Ekanayake & Shehani Gunasekera
healthandwellbeing@amss.org.au

International Officer
Luzern Tan
international@amss.org.au

IT Officer
Alessio Totani
it@amss.org.au

Historian
Montgommery Do-Wyeld
historian@amss.org.au

Publication Officers
Montgommery Do-Wyeld, Shehani Gunasekara & Tenayah Renshaw
publications@amss.org.au

AMSF Directors
Jarrad Hopkins & Patrick Kennewell
amsf@amss.org.au

Photographer
Jessica Walker
photos@amss.org.au

Teaching Series Coordinators
Charlotte Pugh & Lily Hollis-Sando
teachingseries@amss.org.au

Skullduggery Convenors
Jack Doney, James Kimber, Sushanth Saha & Rachel Torpy
skullduggery@amss.org.au

MedCamp Convenors
Luke Cialini, Sophie Eblen, Alec Morley & Emily Slimming
medcamp@amss.org.au

Functions Convenors
Emily Bliss, Laura Dichiera, Nathan Dignam & Hollie Moran
functions@amss.org.au

APY Exchange Coordinators
Jess Mitchell & Jack Rumbelow
apyexchange@amss.org.au

Medrevue Coordinators
Henry Colovic & Jessica Ransom
medrevue@amss.org.au

Year Level Representatives

Please use your University email to get in contact with the representatives when they are elected. If you're having trouble getting in touch, contact a member of the Executive.

First Year

Year Reps: Oliver Marshall, Simoné Richards
Ed Reps: Kseniia Bogatyreva, Scott Chandrasiri
International Rep:
Tegan Schellenberg

Second Year

Year Reps: Tri Nguyen, Fiona Thoi
Ed Reps: Aithne Tobin, Teham Ahmad
International Rep:
Tinki Chan

Third Year

Year Reps: Adriano Barilla, Catrin Bannister
Ed Reps: Ella Obst, Ben Ngoi
International Rep: Warren Seow

Fourth Year

Year Reps: Jennifer Hughes, Samuel Pears
Ed Reps:
Joel Chan, Jennifer Chataway
International Rep: Fong Yu Heng

Fifth Year

Year Reps: Patrick Brown, Jemima McKenzie
Ed Reps:
Charlotte Blacketer, Alex Tsymbal
International Rep: Albert Hung

Sixth Year

Year Reps: Eliza Colley, Joe Hewitt
Ed Reps: Jessica Ransom, Sebastian Rositano
International Rep: Amanthi Mendis